High school boys wrestling: Millard continues wrestling dominance by capturing 2A state title

The Millard High School boys wrestling team was a dominant force throughout the 2A state wrestling tournament Friday and Saturday at the Sevier Valley Center in Richfield. 

Millard tallied 331.5 points to secure the Eagles’ third consecutive state title.

Beaver came in second with 262 points, followed by San Juan with 155.5.

“This is the tournament you prepare for all year long,” said Brenden Turner, who is in his fourth year as the head coach of the Eagles.

“We pride ourselves in getting the best competition. We go up and wrestle 4A, 5A and 6A teams in preparation for this tournament. I truly believe that paid off for us this year.” 

Millard had 10 wrestlers make it to the championship round. 

“We had a couple of heartbreakers, but for the most part the kids responded and did what they were supposed to do,” Turner said.

“It was a lot of fun. Millard is the best. They have the best support. They all come out and support me and rally behind the boys.”

Junior Dak Eldridge (126) helped lead the way, pinning South Sevier’s Landon Bagley. It was Eldridge’s third individual championship.

“Today I guess I just showed up,” Eldridge said. “My favorite part of wrestling is the brotherhood. It’s a family thing, especially with my uncle and grandpa coaching.”

Millard’s Sam Rasmussen (144) capped off his prep wrestling career by defeating Beaver’s Gage Raddon in a 9-7 decision.

The match gave Rasmussen his fourth individual state title. 

“The thing with wrestling is that you have to be the hardest worker in the room,” said junior Morgan Tingey (165), who earned his second individual title against San Juan’s JD Palmer. 

“This means a lot,” said Millard junior Kaden Turner (175) after beating Beaver’s Titan Hunter by fall. ”I’ve been in the finals the last few years and come up short, so it was good to get it.”

Millard’s Emilo Jackson (190) secured an individual medal, beating Enterprise’s Kryon Bracken by fall. 

“There are a lot of emotions,” said Jackson, whose title match was his final time on the mat as a high school athlete. “I love the memories and I love this team.”

Teammate Scoot DeHerrera (285) also placed first, outlasting San Juan’s Taylor Black in a decision match. 

Class 2A state tournament

At Sevier Valley Center

Team scores

Millard, 331.5Beaver, 262San Juan, 155.5North Sevier, 119Kanab, 112North Summit, 101.5Duchesne, 99Enterprise, 91

Individual results

106 — 1. Trexden Olsen, Beaver; 2. Porter Dahl, Millard; 3. Max Mckinlay, North Sevier; 4. Jaden Vice, Kanab; 5. Christian Briceno, Millard; 6. Coulter Ferry, North Summit.113 — 1. Michael Williams, Enterprise; 2. Chad Yellow, San Juan; 3. Lane Monroe, Millard; 4. Statlen Hughes, Beaver; 5. Kasen Bird, Duchesne; 6. Grady Lacy, San Juan.120 — 1. Kolter Kelly, Millard; 2. Caden Adams, Millard; 3. Colton Winkler, Duchesne; 4. Jerrit Anderson, Gunnison Valley; 5. Deklan Helquist, San Juan; 6. Davynn DePalma, Beaver.126 — 1. Dak Eldredge, Millard; 2. Landon Bagley, South Sevier; 3. Dakota Blad, Millard; 4. Whitney Oldham, North Summit; 5. Ryker Williams, North Sevier; 6. Ryder Coates, Gunnison Valley.132 — 1. Jex Bradshaw, Beaver; 2. Dierk Skewes, Duchesne; 3. Hunter Ashworth, Millard; 4. James Crowley, North Sevier; 5. Stephen Meek, North Summit; 6. Jackson Ray, Kanab.138 — 1. Austin Paris, Grand County; 2. Russell Evans, Beaver; 3. Oakley Walton, Millard; 4. Dreyden Stubbs, Kanab; 5. Taylor Garrett, South Sevier; 6. Braygen Maxwell, North Sevier.144 — 1. Sam Rasmussen, Millard; 2. Gage Raddon, Beaver; 3. Reagan Bradshaw, Beaver; 4. Ryker Jenkins, Duchesne; 5. Brance Douglas, Parowan; 6. Lane Sims, Kanab.150 — 1. Tavyn Hollingshead, Beaver; 2. Davin Orton, Beaver; 3. Adreian Briceno, Millard; 4. Isaac Clarkson, Kanab; 5. Kasen Crum, Duchesne; 6. Logan Kieth, San Juan.157 — 1. Cutler Blonquist, North Summit; 2. Parker Snyder, San Juan; 3. Alexander Williams, Beaver; 4. Lincoln Fullmer, Millard; 5. Eduardo Padilla, Enterprise; 6. Cody Sorenson, North Sevier.165 — 1. Morgan Tingey, Millard; 2. JD Palmer, San Juan; 3. Kelton Langston, Beaver; 4. Dean Anderson, North Sevier; 5. Treygan Sorenson, Millard; 6. Hudson White, Parowan.175 — 1. Kaden Turner, Millard; 2. Titan Hunter, Beaver; 3. Trace Bennett, San Juan; 4. Rustyn Mackelprang, Parowan; 5. Holden Chappell, South Sevier; 6. Mason Holgreen, Beaver.190 — 1. Emilio Jackson, Millard; 2. Kyron Bracken, Enterprise; 3. Logan Judd, North Summit; 4. Brayden Evans, Beaver; 5. Brock Hardinger, South Sevier; 6. Soren Jensen, Gunnison Valley.215 — 1. Kutlur Matheson, Beaver; 2. Luke DeGraffenried, Millard; 3. Percy Treadwell, Kanab; 4. Rayce Adams, Millard; 5. Boden Mackelprang, Parowan; 6. Thomas Unsicker, South Sevier.285 — 1. Scoot DeHerrera, Millard; 2. Taylor Black, San Juan; 3. Beachem Bosh, Grand County; 4. Daniel Gates, Millard; 5. Wyatt Bless, American Leadership Academy; 6. Porter Kieth, San Juan.

Source link

Related posts

Union Hill vs Leverett’s Chapel Live Stream How To Watch Union Hill vs Leverett’s Chapel Football

School Sports

University Lab vs Brusly LiveStream How To Watch University Lab vs Brusly Football

School Sports

ScoreStream's Top Plays of Week 9

School Sports

Leave a Comment