High school baseball: New Hampshire school’s 89-game run drives rundown of longest series of wins

High school baseball: New Hampshire school's 89-game run drives rundown of longest series of wins

In the spring of 2005, a couple of groups hustled to guarantee the unequaled longest High school baseball win streak from pioneer Archbishop Molloy (Queens, N.Y.), which had purportedly dominated 68 straight matches from 1963 to 1966 under unbelievable mentor Jack Curran.

And afterward in 2012, it happened once more.

La Cueva (Albuquerque) was the main group to outperform Archbishop Molloy, doing as such on April 2, 2005, with a doubleheader clear of Highland that put La Cueva’s success streak at 70. The Bears fabricated their streak gradually, beginning with the principal triumph in 2002 and extending more than four seasons. Rio Grande snapped La Cueva’s streak with a fairly persuading 17-8 win.

Homer (Mich.) took the faster course to the public record. The Trojans went 38-0 of every 2004 to win the Michigan Division III state title and passed La Cueva on June 4, 2005, when it crushed Union City 14-3 in the region titles for win No. 71. Homer dominated four additional matches and progressed to the Division III state finals again prior to losing to Saginaw Nouvel.

The race between Portsmouth (N.H.) and Martensdale-St. Mary’s (Martensdale, Iowa) in 2012 saw Portsmouth break the record twice and St. Mary’s once. Portsmouth beat Pembroke Academy on May 12, it edged Homer for win No. 76 with a streak that began back in 2008. Portsmouth proceeded to dominate seven additional matches, another state title and got done with 83 straight successes.

Like Homer, Martensdale-St. Mary’s adopted a lot speedier strategy to the record. In the wake of establishing a state standard with a 43-0 record in 2010, the Blue Devils, who play in the late spring, went 44-0 of every 2012. They got the record with a 10-0 success over Twin Cedars on July 19, 2012 to put them at 84 in succession. Three additional successes gave the Blue Devils a subsequent straight state title.

Yet, Portsmouth wasn’t finished. The Clippers won their initial six rounds of the 2012 season to recover the public record at 89 preceding losing to St. Thomas Aquinas on April 30, 2012.

Martensdale-St. Mary’s actually gotten an opportunity to recover the record too. Be that as it may, subsequent to dominating their first match of the 2012 summer season, the Blue Devils fell 4-3 to Des Moines East on May 22 consummation their streak at 88.

It ends up, in any case, that the first record Homer and La Cueva were pursuing may have never really existed. Diocese supervisor Molloy, instructed by Curran who dominated 1,708 baseball matches in his 52-year training vocation, supposedly dominated 68 games somewhere in the range of 1963 and 1966. Notwithstanding, there’s motivation to accept that those games were class games and they may have been a blend of fall and spring win streaks.

An article in the New York Daily News on June 19, 1966, expressed that the 68 sequential successes were “group” wins. Different reports about Curran’s profession in “The Beehive,” a Molloy graduated class bulletin, records the 68 successes as association wins too. Also, Al Harvin expounded on Curran in the New York Times in 1982, expressing that he had just “one undefeated season, 36-0 out of 1970,” which doesn’t bode well for a mentor that should have dominated 68 matches over a four-year range. Examination by Barry Sollenberger of the National Sports News Service additionally showed that the successes covered the fall and spring season.

So if Molloy didn’t hold the record, Capitol Hill of Oklahoma City unquestionably did. State house Hill won 66 in succession from 1952 to 1954, breaking the record of 65, set by Waxahachie (Texas) from 1924 to 1927.

One of the more far-fetched closures to a long streak came in 1985 in Tennessee. Unicoi County turned into the primary group in the country to hit more than 100 grand slams collectively, hitting 100 and 101 in the highest point of the seventh of the title game to assemble a 5-0 lead. In any case, in the lower part of the seventh, Chattanooga Central scored six runs, including a stroll off great pummel homer, to end the streak.

The success streaks are for spring seasons just and not for tumble to-spring win streaks. Cameron (Okla.) holds the longest success streak for fall-spring groups at 84 in succession. The Yellowjackets’ streak extended from the fall of 1988, to the spring of 1989, to the fall of 1989 to the spring of 1990. Roff (Okla.) could undermine that streak. The Tigers dominated 26 matches in the fall of 2020 and went 33-0 in the spring of 2021 for a dash of 59 games in succession.

The latest streak on the rundown has a place with Calvary Christian (Clearwater, Fla.), which prevailed upon 60 in succession the 2017 and 2018 seasons.

Sources incorporate the NFHS record book, state affiliation record books, (Oklahoma records) and examination utilizing Increases or adjustments,

Longest baseball win streaks

  1. 89 — Portsmouth (N.H.), 2008-12
  2. 88 — Martensdale-St. Mary’s (Martensdale, Iowa), 2010-12
  3. 75 — Homer (Mich.), 2004-05
  4. 70 — La Cueva (Albuquerque), 2002-05
  5. 68 — Archbishop Molloy (Queens, N.Y.), 1963-66
  6. 67 — Sumrall (Miss.), 2008-10
  7. 66 — Capitol Hill (Oklahoma City, Okla.), 1952-54
  8. 65 — Waxahachie (Texas), 1924-27
  9. 64 — St. Benedict’s Prep (Newark, N.J.), 1946-50
  10. 64 — Naugatuck (Conn.), 1969-73
  11. 64 — Nekoosa (Wis.), 1980-83
  12. 64 — Edwardsville (Ill.), 1990-91
  13. 64 — Enterprise (Utah), 1992-95
  14. 61 — Evans (Ga.), 1988-90
  15. 60 — Eaton (Colo.), 2008-10
  16. 60 — Calvary Christian (Clearwater, Fla.), 2016-18
  17. 59 — Kee (Lansing, Iowa), 1991-92
  18. 59 — Evansville Reitz (Ind.), 1978-79
  19. 58 — Wilton (Iowa), 2005-06
  20. 58 — St. Cloud Cathedral (St. Cloud, Minn.), 2014-16
  21. 57 — West Perry (Elliottsburg, Pa.), 1979-81
  22. 57 — Wayne (Bicknell, Utah), 2006-09
  23. 56 — Grand Haven (Mich.), 1960-62
  24. 55 — Muskegon (Mich.), 1941-45
  25. 55 — Unicoi County (Erwin, Tenn.), 1984-85
  26. 54 — South San Antonio (San Antonio), 1966-68
  27. 54 — Bowie (Md.), 1981-83
  28. 54 — Cottonwood (Ala.), 1985-88
  29. 53 — Garber (Okla.), 1960-61
  30. 53 — Amsterdam (N.Y.), 1972-75
  31. 53 — Omaha Northwest (Neb.), 1982-85
  32. 52 — White Oak (Jacksonville, N.C.), 1978-80
  33. 52 — Shawnee (Okla.), 2016-18
  34. 51 — Panguitch (Utah), 2011-13
  35. 51 — New Hope (Miss.), 1997-98
  36. 50 — Lockhart (S.C.), 1972-74 (no longer fields ball club)
  37. 50 — Enterprise (Utah), 1984-88

Related posts

A Championship Trophy For Hayfield High School Baseball Team

School Sports

Massachusetts high school baseball coach reinstated, was on leave after assault charge

School Sports

Severna Park’s Jackson Merrill, Gilman’s Peter Heubeck Begin Pro Baseball Careers

School Sports

Leave a Comment